History of Namayingo

Namayingo District is located along the Equator. It is bordered by Bugiri District to the northwest, Busia District to the northeast, the Republic of Kenya to the east and southeast, the Republic of Tanzania to the south and Mayuge District to the west and southwest. Namayingo, where the district headquarters are located, is approximately 95 kilometres (59 mi), by road, southeast of Jinja, the largest city in the Busoga sub-region.[1] This location lies approximately 38 kilometres (24 mi), by road, south of Bugiri, the nearest large town.[2] The coordinates of the district are:00 17N, 33 51E.

The district was established by Act of Parliament and began functioning on 1 July 2010. Priotr to that it was part of Bugiri District. Namayingo District is part of Busoga sub-region. Other districts in Busoga include: 1. Buyende District 2. Iganga District 3. Jinja District 4. Kaliro District 5. Kamuli District 6. Luuka District 7. Mayuge District and 8. Namutumba District.