Swearing in of namayingo district new leadership

Namayingo district local government leaders have been sworn in. The Chief Magistrate of Iganga, Zulaika Nanteza, presided over the swearing in ceremony held on Wednesday at the district headquarters.

Speaking during the first council sitting chaired by the newly elected speaker Musa Omollo, the re-elected district chairperson, Ronald Sanya, thanked the people for the support.

“I am profoundly honored and exceedingly humbled for winning the trust of the people of Namayingo to serve as the district chairperson for the second term. The best gift I can give in return is the commitment to offer selfless and quality service,” Sanya said.

Sanya called for unity, cohesion, quality service delivery and focus on development for the welfare of the people in the district.

“We have been entrusted with a huge responsibility of being the people’s mouthpiece and advocates for better services. Let us prioritize development,” Sanya said. He urged fellow leaders to join hands in fighting the war against poverty and underdevelopment in the district.

He pledged to promote citizen participation, accountability, transparency and equitable distribution of resources in the district.

He noted that Namayingo was grappling with challenges of access to services before it was carved out of Iganga and later Bugiri districts. He commended the government for breathing life in the principles of decentralization which has lead to improved service delivery in communities.

The swearing-in ceremony was also attended by the newly elected Member of Parliament for Bukooli South, Abdu Adidwa, who also called for unity, teamwork, and focus on improved service delivery.

Adidwa advised leaders and community members to stop meddling development with politics.

“Let us forget about our political differences and battles and focus on development. We need to work as a team to ensure improvement in education, health, road network and create employment opportunities for the people in the district, Adidwa said.

He noted that the district has poor road network and pledged to donate fuel to enable access to community access roads. He said this is part of the collective effort to push development in the area.

The Resident District Commissioner, Yahaya Kakooza, commended the NRM government for ushering democracy in the country.
Edith Namayega, the Namayingo district chief Administrative officer, congratulated the leaders and pledged total support. A total of 28 leaders were sworn in.

During the ceremony, the district leaders who served in the previous term 2016- 2021 were awarded certificates to recognize their tremendous efforts in building Namayingo district.

Thursday, May 20, 2021